RC Qatar RC
 


*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 20, 2018, 12:51:53 PM


Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Spektrum Module for Futaba radio  (Read 11687 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
fernie_vital
ForumRegular
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« on: November 18, 2008, 04:10:42 PM »

Hi,
I found a very interesting product which I think is one of the cheapest option in switching to a 2.4GHz freq. Just having a slight doubt if I can use this to my Futaba 9CA / 9CH Tx.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220312122931&_trksid=p2759.l1259


Regards,
Fernie
Logged
anwar
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 521


« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2008, 09:27:35 PM »

Sure, it will work.  There are two minor issues.

1) There is an external antenna wire that sticks out of the back of the module.  It is not visually pleasing, and can get dislodged inadvertantly.

2) There is a small delay due to PPM to DSM conversion of the signals, most people would not notice.

Anwar.
Logged

fernie_vital
ForumRegular
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2008, 05:00:43 PM »

Hi,
Some guys had done a very good job for this conversion Clap Got this from RC Universe.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_6476841/anchors_6476841/mpage_1/key_/anchor/tm.htm

Regarding the signal delay, anyone have any idea how much time delay it has to convert PPM to DSM?

Regards,
Fernie
Logged
fernie_vital
ForumRegular
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2008, 08:24:05 PM »

hi,
Just completed my migration from FM to Spektrum to my Futaba 9C. Just confused to where should I connect my Gyro & Gov.
Any Idea?

Fernie


* Spektrum AR7000.jpg (60.88 KB, 640x480 - viewed 2019 times.)
Logged
anwar
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 521


« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2008, 09:06:38 PM »

Spektrum uses the same channel assignments as JR, so it would be like :

1 THRO: Throttle Servo
2 AILE: Aileron Servo
3 ELEV: Elevator Servo
4 RUDD: Rudder (Gyro)
5 GEAR: Gyro Remote Gain
6 PIT/AUX1: Pitch Servo
7 AUX2: Governor

« Last Edit: December 09, 2008, 11:05:44 PM by anwar » Logged

anwar
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 521


« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2008, 08:00:13 AM »

After doing the connections, do the following on the radio.

In the "end-point" menu :

1) Ensure that the end-points (ATV) for channel 7 are left at the default, which is 100 - 100.

In the "reverse" menu :

2) Make channel 7 reverse.

In the "governor" menu :

3) Ensure that the function is NOT in INH mode.

4) Set the "switch" to be the same one you use for idle-up/3D.

5) Set the values for the 3 points as  0%, 77% and 81%.  That should give you no governor on Normal flight, 1900rpm on IDLE1 and 2100 rpm on IDLE2.

Finally, on the ground, ensure that the light on the governer is "red" in normal mode, and green in both IDLE1 and IDLE2.
Logged

fernie_vital
ForumRegular
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2008, 12:47:16 PM »

Thanks a lot Anwar.


Fernie
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder


2008-2011 (c) RC Qatar
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!